Our Staff

Aimée Baker
Executive Editor

Aimée Baker is a multigenre writer and lecturer for the Professional Writing Certificate at SUNY Plattsburgh. She received an MFA in Fiction from Arizona State University. Her work has appeared in journals such as The Southern Review, The Massachusetts Review, Witness, and Black Warrior Review. Her poetry collection, Doe, won the 2016 Akron Poetry Prize and was published by University of Akron Press in 2018.

Elizabeth Cohen

Elizabeth Cohen teaches creative writing.  She is the author of The House on Beartown Road, a memoir; The Hypothetical Girl, short fiction; The Silver Bear and the Scalpel, a biography, and four books of poetry. She lives in Plattsburgh with her family.

William Stratton

William Stratton currently lives and writes in Colchester, Vermont, and teaches writing and poetry at SUNY Plattsburgh.  His  first full length collection, Under The Water Was Stone  (published May of 2014), has been nominated for the Kate Tufts Discovery award and the Eugene Paul Nassar Award. His second book, These Things Too Have Shape was released in January of 2016. He has poetry published or forthcoming in: FIELD, Sugar House Review, Spillway, The Cortland Review, Best of Pif Magazine, The North American Review,  Canary, Connotation Press, and others.

David Powell
Drama and Art Editor

David Powell, a teacher, artist and illustrator, lives in Underhill, Vermont. His illustrations have recently appeared in One Way Out: The Inside History of the Allman Brothers Band, and in Greg Bottoms’ Pitiful Criminals.  He has shown his collages, paintings and prints widely and they are in both private and public collections.

Beth Ann Miller
Guest Fiction Editor

Beth Ann Miller is a writing professor and Director of Graduate Programs at New Hampshire Institute of Art. She received her MFA in Writing from the University of New Hampshire and is recipient of the Lex Allen Literary Fiction Award. Her short stories have appeared in publications such as The Normal School, PANK, and the The Northern New England Review. Although she frequently travels, her North Country roots run deep. She is a proud third generation co-owner of a rugged family cabin on a remote lake in the Adirondacks, and is currently fulfilling her childhood dream of living in a little seacoast home in Southern Maine.

Shawna Mefferd Kelty
Drama Editor

A freelance theatre artist, Shawna has performed in and directed productions all over the United States and Montreal, QC. She cofounded Independent Actors Theatre in Columbia, Missouri, and was its artistic director for four years, and also founded its annual short Women’s Play Festival. Her primary artistic focus is new play development, both in regional productions as well as staged readings at the Great Plains Theatre Conference, Mid-America
Theatre Conference, Association for Theatre in Higher Education, and the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival.

Chelsey van der Munnik
Guest Poetry Editor

Chelsey van der Munnik lives and works on the Canadian/New York border with her daughter. While attending SUNY Plattsburgh, she worked as an intern and reader for Saranac Review. Her poetry has been published in BROAD!, Poetry Super Highway, Right Hand Pointing, & The Write Launch. Her chapbook, Balloon Animal, was published by Finishing Line Press in July 2018.

Joshua Folmar
Associate Poetry Editor

Joshua Morgan Folmar is an artist and educator from Alabama. He received his MFA in Writing from the University of New Hampshire where he was awarded the Young P. Dawkins III Endowed Prize in Creative Writing for his poetry thesis Here We Rest. He resides with his wife and two rescue cats in Dallas, Texas, where he is the project director of Writing Over War: a DFW-based workshop of The Writer’s Garret for veterans and those that have been affected by war. His work can be found in Permafrost Magazine and the anthology Liver of Dixie: Stories from Egan's, among others.

Meghan Brinson
Associate Poetry Editor

Meghan Brinson (place next to Josh Folmar, photo in file)Meghan Brinson received her MFA in poetry from Arizona State University, where she served as poetry editor for Hayden’s Ferry Review, and her MA in English Studies from Georgetown University. Her most recent chapbook, Fugue in the Key of Machine, was published by Dancing Girl Press. She has had poems featured in North American Review, Connotations Press, Puerto del Sol, and Gulf Coast. Meghan lives in Raleigh, NC with her husband Tony, their two sons, two cats and a Boston Terrier.

Muhammad Zeeshan
Business Assistant and Media Controller

Zeeshan is an International Student studying at SUNY Plattsburgh.  He is a double major in Digital Media Production and TV/Video Production. He works as Saranac Review's Business Assistant and also assists in boosting SR's Social Media and marketing.

Advisory Board

Thelma Carrino
Nathalie Costa Thill
George Davis
Brian Giebel
Amy Guglielmo
Robert Golden
Christopher Kirkey

Staff 2018-2019

Aimée Baker - Executive Editor
Elizabeth Cohen - Editor
William Stratton - Editor
Beth Ann Miller - Guest Fiction Editor
Chelsey van der Munnik - Poetry Editor
Shawna Medferd-Kelty - Drama Editor
David Powell - Art Editor
Meghan Brinson - Associate Poetry Editor
M. Gray Atkins - Associate Poetry Editor
Joshua Folmar - Associate Poetry Editor
Tracy Vicory-Rosenquest - Associate Poetry Editor

Editorial Assistants

Aamyra Augustine
Keely Cohen-Breen
Mikayla Dolezsar
Jason Lima
Joseph Lewis
Valery Mora
Rayquan Robinson
Gemma Tendrich
Lea Valente
Gabraella Wescott