February 28, 2018

Jeffrey Utzinger, "Carousel"

Their house is a menagerie of mixed origin children from previous marriages, a twice removed nephew, and one shared premature miracle boy, who racked up medical bills the size of a mortgage, a honeymoon, and three student loans.

February 28, 2018

Ella Marilla, "For I Have Come to Jiffy Lube"

For many a thing claims FREE-ness, while hiding its cost in your coolant, Your Pennzoil. I’m bored, For this People Magazine Is an old People Magazine, For these aren’t the stars they once were,

December 2, 2017

Amalia Gladhart "Give that Girl a Wilson Cigar!"

All summer and into the fall, my father tried to sell his bottles of edible algae at the farmer's market like some kind of gourmet treat. Dad thought he still had it, the salesman's magic that had once made him rich selling tropical fish...

September 23, 2017

Mikayla Avila Vila "The One About the Dead Horse"

It starts when Jinete Camacho decides to get his beloved Paso Fino Mamey stuffed after she's totally wrecked by an '85 Suzuki Swift near KM 12, just outside of Yauco. A freak accident next to a stand selling American-style donuts that leaves the road closed, but not un-taken, since traffic never stops for anyone on the island, not even a flipped hatchback and a half-dismantled horse.

September 23, 2017

Sharing in Deeper Ways: An Interview with Michael Devine of Famous Letter Writer

Michael Devine is an Associate Professor at SUNY Plattsburgh and the Poetry Editor for Saranac Review. However, he also fronts a band he formed called Famous Letter Writer. His wife, Julia, plays keyboards and sings; Zach Hirsch is the drummer. “Famous Letter Writer is not so much a band as it is a concept, a collective,” Devine says. “It's also a character, each song a different chapter.” Attempting to bridge the gap between pop culture and poetics with his music, Devine explains the concept of his band.

December 28, 2016

David Elliott

The million-dollar bash is precisely what I’m after, a place of excitement and promise, even if we are the only ones who show up.

December 28, 2016

Jennifer Steil "Captive"

It is the first cool autumn day in Amman when you hear that your ex-boyfriend is missing. You are standing in the frosted air of the produce department of Cozmo supermarket, arguing with your four-year-old over asparagus. While you hate to thwart enthusiasm for a vegetable, one small bunch costs $20. Nothing is cheap here, except dates. You eat a lot of dates. As you pry the stalks from Lily’s warm fingers, your phone rings. You glance down. International call. That couldn’t be good.

December 28, 2016

Karen Bender "The Cell Phone That Would Not Stop Ringing During High Holy Day Services"

“Stop,” I kept saying, and snapping my phone off. Would they just shut up already? Who wanted to hear the world’s millions of complaints? The world was mad, as in disappointed, humiliated, hurt, lost, and everyone had their personal solutions to this, most of which were inadvisable. They were human, most solutions were inadvisable.

December 28, 2016

Meet the Staff: Aimee Baker

I wouldn’t say I read the same story over and over, but I would say that I see interest in certain topics or tropes. Sometimes I see the same imagery being used. I think writers are drawn to types of stories, like the failing marriage story or the parent dying story, because there’s naturally-ingrained tension there. For a bit I was seeing a lot of what I labeled the “suburban story” in which characters wander around suburban landscapes filled with ennui which I think spoke to this certain placelessness and discomfort with contemporary life in those landscapes.